Semester 1

Dear Diary (a.k.a Khaya and Wessie 🙂 )

The main thing I realised this semester, or actually, just this week, is, that while we are studying, we can do what we want. Once we start working we won’t be doing what we want to do anymore, we’ll be doing what the client wants from us. This made me realise how much fun I could and should actually have. I learnt that sometimes you should just stop and do something else instead of struggling ad infinitum because then your brain just gets frizzled and you waste your time, then you get frustrated. I also realised for the first time (although I thought I had this already) that I should not ever feel bad about myself because of criticism. You should distance yourself from your work and be able to judge it and really figure out if it is good or bad (or really bad). I also realised if something doesn’t feel “right” it probably isn’t right and you usually know this you just don’t always WANT to know this.

On a technical level, I have learnt about AE. I say about because I’m sure I don’t even nearly know half of the programme, but I really like learning it and it’s really really satisfying if I get something right. I have learnt about the different basic tools, how to open something from illustrator or Photoshop in After Effects, how to save everything in a folder to always be able to open it without getting a terrible multi coloured rainbow man, how to work with the camera (I still need to perfect this skill… a lot) in After effects, and a lot of other small things like that. I have also learnt that you have to (and I really like this) try and think differently and continuously look for new inspiration, even if it’s not for now, it can be for later. OH, and this one is important, the computer and the internet does NOT always have the answer. Sometimes you just have to figure it out yourself.

Other stuff: Draw stuff bigger to compensate,pin puppet tool, different shortcuts for After Effects, when you really struggle and there’s no one to help- look for a tutorial.

When writing a story, you shouldn’t just be looking at the story from a distance, you should be part of the story, you should get into the character’s shoes and walk around in it. Think like your character and talk like your character and and and…

I have read a lot of valuable things in the Animator’s Survival Kit. He really writes well and it’s not at all a boring book, with boring I mean his writing style. And yes, it does contain a lot of pictures but I mean I have actually read a big part of the written stuff and it’s funny, witty and he has lots of cool quotes which I will mention when I pick up the book again.

I will edit this but first I have some backgrounds to go create and animate…

Leave a Reply

